Choose Your Charity Campaign

Help WWOA win $1,000 during the month of February!

[Read more…]

Learn About the Conservation Stewardship Program

The United States Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) Natural Resource Conservation Service (NRCS) works with landowners and farmers through their Conservation Stewardship Program (CSP) to help them plan and implement conservation practices and enhancements that address natural resource concerns on their property. The program covers an array of focuses from livestock, dairy, and crops to forestry, wildlife, and soil health.

What does that exactly mean for you and your woodlands? CSP is a great program whether you already have your land enrolled in Managed Forest Law (MFL) or if you do not. The NRCS has an acre goal, so there is only an 1 acre minimum to be enrolled in the program. The benefit of having a MFL plan or current management plan is you will receive enhancement options that are best suited to your conditions. To determine which enchantments you are eligible for as a landowner, NRCS field staff use an eligibility worksheet called a CAET. With a MFL plan or current management plan, you worked with a professional forester to determine the current conditions of your woodlands. That is the information that will be used in the CAET. Without a plan (which is completely okay!) NRCS field staff fill out the CAET and may make assumptions that may or may not be true. For example, NRCS staff might say that the stocking is adequate when reality is it is overstocked (NRCS will not do an inventory), so incorrect enhancements may be offered.

Some of the forestry enhancements offered include the following (For a full enhancements list click here or to filter enhancements to your specifications click here):  [Read more…]

Which WI DNR forester do I contact?

The WI DNR realignment has changed how woodland owners interact with their WI DNR foresters. The realignment created two different types of WI DNR foresters – integrated service and tax law foresters – that will serve woodland owners. [Read more…]

Find Your Forester

Looking for a forester to help with the vision you have for your woodlands?  You can use the Forestry Assistance Locator to find cooperating foresters or DNR service foresters for your county or view the current Directory of Foresters.

Types of foresters listed in the directory include DNR Tax Law Specialists, DNR Foresters, Cooperating Foresters, & Certified Plan Writers. [Read more…]

Winter Conferences

It’s winter conference time! Find the conference closest to you.

[Read more…]

2015-2016 Wisconsin Council on Forestry Biennial Report

The Wisconsin Council on Forestry Biennial Report for 2015-2016 can now be viewed. The Council is a board composed of individuals that represent all areas of forestry in Wisconsin. They advise the Governor, the Legislature, Department of Natural Resources, and other state agencies on aspects of forestry in the state.

The 34-page report covers accomplishments of the board, items the Council advised the Division of Forestry on, statistics about Wisconsin’s forests (including forested area, species composition, age class, volume, growth, the urban forest, forest health, ownership, incentives, etc.), economic opportunities and development, effects of state and local government laws, recommendations on staffing and funding for forestry programs, and raising the public’s knowledge and awareness of forestry issues.

It is a great snapshot of forestry in the state. You can find past biennial reports here

Updated Forest Tax Rates

The Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources has released the new tax rates for use in 2018 through 2022 for land in the Managed Forest Law (MFL). These new tax rates are effective January 1, 2018.

The updated MFL tax rates saw an all around decrease. Open land entered before 2005 saw a decrease of 5¢ to $0.74 per acre. Closed land entered before 2005 dropped 12¢ to $1.75 per acre. Open land entered after 2004 decreased 10¢ to $2.04 per acre. Lastly, closed land entered after 2004 saw a reduction of 38¢ to $10.68 per acre.

Land in Forest Crop Law (FCL) will have the same tax rates in 2018. The current FCL tax rates were recalculated in 2012 and are effective until 2022. They are scheduled to be recalculated in 2022.

Karen and Randy Cooper

Imagine driving with your in-laws to a fish fry in northern Wisconsin, when suddenly, a tiny sign nestled in the grass at the side of the road catches your attention. It’s written, “Land For Sale”.

You glance at your spouse, mirroring a look of mischief in each other’s eyes and decisively turn around to investigate. That’s what Karen and Randy Cooper did.

After parking and walking in a bit further, the Coopers decided to call the real estate agent right then and there, taking the first steps in the process of obtaining their northern paradise. “We fell in love with the red pine right then,” Karen recalls. “It drew us in.”

That was just the beginning, though.

“We never thought we’d find a property so diverse and so well managed,” Randy continues. He describes the mix of black ash, white cedar, white pine, red maple, aspen, red oak, and others that comprise the mosaic of forest cover on their 110 acre property in Oconto County.

The couple’s passion for forestry started long before they acquired the northern property, though. Randy’s degree in Forestry was enough information for Karen to know she’d accept a blind date with him back in 1985. “My thinking was we’d probably have enough to talk about for one night. Little did I know I’d receive a forestry lesson nearly every day since then.” [Read more…]

Volunteer Opportunity Spotlight

Know a thing or two about radio? Share your knowledge with us or consider joining our Radio Project Committee!  [Read more…]

Tax Tips for Forest Landowners for the 2017 Tax Year

As you begin to prepare your taxes for the year, head over to the National Timber Tax Website for some helpful resources. Tax tips for the 2017 tax year are now available.

This publication provides up-to-date federal income tax information affecting timber transactions.  It assists woodland owners, logging professionals, foresters and their tax accountants in filing the 2017 tax returns.

(The information presented here is for educational purpose only and is not intended for legal or accounting advice. It is current as of September 30, 2017.)